Stephanie McClarance

Face 1849

My name is Stephanie McClarance. I live in Epsom in the U.K.

Suffered since the age of 11 with knee pain, diagnosed finally at the age of 23, 4 months before I was due to start my physiotherapy degree at university. I have spent the last 3 years attempting to find medication that works (including a prolonged period on steroids, of which I’m still trying to lose that weight!), 2 hospital admissions – one a migraine related to AS and the other an operation to repair the cartilage in my knee. I’ve had weeks where I needed crutches to walk, unable to eat due to the pain and had to dose myself up to the eyeballs just to be able to get into university. I’m at a place now where my medication is much more effective and I’m beginning to learn how to live with my AS, I’ve been able to graduate and start my first job in the NHS as a physiotherapist. I plan to specialise in Rheumatology and attempt to make a real difference to those whose lives are plagued by diseases such as ours!

England, United Kingdom, Europe

One Response to “Stephanie McClarance”

  1. Dear Stephanie,
    Thank you so much for sharing your story with us.
    Sincerely Cookie

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: