Caroline

Hi!  My name is Caroline, I am 47 and live on Southern California.  I was diagnosed with AS in my early thirties after suffering from symptoms since my late teens.  My symptoms started in my feet and eyes (severe bouts of iritis that always required steroid injections). I am currently on Enbrel, Indomethacin and Oxycodone as needed (which has been daily, lately!)
I am HLA B-27 positive and also have Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis. I’ve tried going off of my meds but have found that they are definitely making a difference!
It has been quite a struggle with this disease but the hardest part has been dealing with the depression, fatigue and not knowing what to expect on a day to day basis. I have been working for the last five years as a receiver in the bookstore at my church. It is getting harder and harder to get through each day but my bosses and co-workers have been more than understanding.  I am very blessed to be married to a man who has stayed beside me in this, every step of the way. He has been an incredible strength and support.
That’s my story in a nutshell!  I’m very thankful for groups like this where I can go to read other people’s stories. Helps to know that other people understand.  Thank you Cookie!

California United States of America


One Response to “Caroline”

  1. Dear Caroline,
    Thank you so much for sharing your story with us.
    Sincerely Cookie

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: